C. McCollister Evarts Resident Leadership Forum

About the 2019 Resident Leadership Forum

2019 Chair, Sandra E. Klein, MD, FAOA, and the Young Leaders Taskforce, are currently planning the 2019 C. McCollister Evarts Resident Leadership Forum, which will be held just prior to the start of the AOA Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA. 

2019 AOA Resident Leadership Forum
San Diego, CA
The Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
June 25-26, 2019

Program Directors and Department Chairs nominate and send outstanding PGY4 residents to gain leadership skills and resources. C. McCollister Evarts Resident Leadership Forum participants interact with peers from across the US and Canada, gaining new perspectives, sharing best practices, and making vital connections with one another and AOA's established leaders. 

Programs benefit from sending residents who return to share new knowledge and experiences with others in the program. 


Tuesday, June 25, 2019

 8:00am - 8:10am  Welcome: Introduction to the AOA
Sandra E. Klein, MD, FAOA - 2019 RLF Chair

 8:10am - 9:55am  Leading as a Chief Resident
Samir Mehta, MD, FAOA

 9:55am - 10:10am  Break

 10:10am - 11:10am  Physician Leadership
Michael Suk, MD, JD, MPH, MBA, FAOA

 11:10am - 11:20am  AOA Presidential Line
 Christopher Harner, MD, FAOA

 11:20am - 12:20pm  Lunch

 12:20pm - 1:55pm  Finding Your 1st Job - Which Pathway Should You Choose?
William Levine, MD, FAOA
 Xavier Duralde, MD, FAOA
 Ronald Navarro, MD, FAOA

 1:55pm - 2:10pm  Break

 2:10pm - 3:40pm  Essential Skills for Effective Negotiation at Work
 Rebecca Hollander-Blumoff, JD, PhD

 3:40pm - 3:50pm  Break

 3:50pm - 5:00pm  Orthopaedic Mythbusters
 Joseph Bernstein, MD, FAOA
 Paul Tornetta, III, MD, FAOA
 Serena Hu, MD, FAOA

 6:00pm - 7:00pm  Resident Leadership Forum Reception

Wednesday, June 26, 2019

 8:00am - 9:15am  Residents as Teachers 
 Sandra Jarvis-Selinger, PhD
 April Armstrong, MD, FRCSC, FAOA

 9:15am - 9:25am  Break

 9:25am - 10:25am  Strategy vs. Tactics
 Michael Cross, MD

 10:25am - 10:35am  Break

 10:35am - 11:35am  Building Skills to Mentor Across Differences
 Michelle Guy, MD

 11:35am - 12:35pm  Lunch

 12:35pm - 12:40pm  Intro to the Emerging Leaders Program

 12:40pm - 2:45pm  CORD Collaboration

 2:45pm - 3:45pm   Leadership Journey
 Rick W. Wright, MD, FAOA
 Douglas Lundy, MD, FAOA
 Leesa Galatz, MD, FAOA

About C. McCollister Evarts, MD, FAOA

In recognition of Dr. Evarts’ transformational gift, the Executive Committee has chosen to honor him by renaming the Resident Leadership Forum as the C. McCollister Evarts Resident Leadership Forum.

Dr. Evarts' impact on orthopaedics has been significant. Among his many achievements, he has co-authored over 200 articles, edited numerous publications, held a wide range of visiting professorships and appointments, and participated on countless committees. He has served as Chair of two Orthopaedic Departments, CEO and Dean of two academic health centers, and been the recipient of many honors and awards—including the AOA’s Distinguished Contributions to Orthopaedics Award in 2006.

Dr. Evarts has served as President not only for the AOA, but also for the AAHC, Hip Society, ABOS, and OMeGA Medical Grants. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine. He acknowledges that without the support of family and friends, all his other achievements would be diminished.