Leading the Leaders

The AOA is led by:


Serena S. Hu, MD, FAOA
Stanford University School of Medicine

First President-Elect

Wayne J. Sebastianelli, MD, FAOA
The Penn State Orthopaedics & Center for Sports Medicine

Second President-Elect

Ann E. Van Heest, MD, FAOA
University of Minnesota


Rex C. Haydon, MD, PhD, FAOA
The University of Chicago Department of Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehabilitation Medicine


Kyle J. Jeray, MD, FAOA
Prisma Health – Upstate

First Past President

Theodore W. Parsons, III, MD, FACS, FAOA
Peru, Trujillo South Mission
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Second Past President

Christopher D. Harner, MD, FAOA
Pittsburgh, PA


Michael A. Simon, MD, FAOA
University of Chicago 

Executive Director

Kristin Olds Glavin, Esq.

Council of Orthopaedic Residency Directors/Academics Committee Chair

Tessa Balach, MD, FAOA
The University of Chicago Department of Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehabilitation Medicine

Critical Issues/Educational Programming Committee Chair

Keith Kenter, MD, FAOA
Western Michigan University Homer Stryker School of Medicine

Development/Donor Support Committee Chair

C. McCollister Evarts, MD, FAOA
Penn State College of Medicine

Leadership/Fellowships Committee Chair

Jonathan P. Braman, MD, MHA, FAOA
University of Minnesota

Membership Committee Chair

Steven M. Theiss, MD, FAOA
University of Alabama Medical Center

Own the Bone Committee Chair

Stephen L. Kates, MD, FAOA
Virginia Commonwealth University

Program Chair

Steven L. Frick, MD, FAOA
Stanford University


George Dyer, MD, FAOA
Massachusetts General Hospital/Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School

Joshua C. Patt, MD, MPH, FAOA
Carolinas Medical Center – Atrium Health

Emerging Leader Delegate

Megan Conti Mica, MD
University of Chicago

Lay Delegate

Daniel J. Post, MBA
Banner University Medical Center Phoenix